Social Security Disability Case Spotlight featuring $100,036 in past-due

$100,036 in Past-Due Social Security Disability Benefits After Years of Persistence

For one Social Security Disability claimant, the biggest challenge was not simply proving that her medical condition prevented her from working. Her case required establishing that her disability began years earlier, before her Social Security Disability Insurance coverage expired.

The claimant had been unable to work for years while experiencing debilitating symptoms from ulcerative colitis. Her Date Last Insured had expired in December 2020, creating an additional challenge in a case that had already been pending since 2022.

Disability Law Group Attorney Rachel L. Thomasson carefully reviewed the claimant’s medical history, developed a detailed legal argument, and prepared her for the hearing.

Ultimately, the Administrative Law Judge agreed, resulting in an approval and $100,036 in past-due Social Security Disability benefits.

A Disability Case With a Distant Date Last Insured

The claimant was 51 years old when her Date Last Insured, or DLI, expired in December 2020.

Her primary severe impairment was ulcerative colitis, and she had continued seeking treatment because of persistent and debilitating symptoms.

Because she had already been unable to work for several years, the case required establishing that her disabling limitations existed before her insured status expired. A claimant’s work history and insured status are important parts of the SSDI eligibility requirements.

The amount of time that had passed made the claimant’s medical history especially important. Rachel focused closely on the evidence from the relevant period and how it supported the claimant’s case.

Building the Case Around the Medical Evidence

Rachel conducted a detailed review of the claimant’s medical record and prepared a comprehensive summary of the evidence.

She then developed a pre-hearing memorandum that organized the medical information and clearly presented the legal argument supporting the claimant’s disability claim.

The goal was to provide the Administrative Law Judge with a clear picture of the claimant’s condition, treatment history, and limitations during the period that mattered to the case. Learn more about the medical evidence needed for a strong SSDI claim.

Rachel also spent time preparing the claimant for the hearing and making sure she understood what to expect.

Preparing the Client for the Hearing

A Social Security Disability hearing can involve detailed questions about a claimant’s medical history, previous work, symptoms, treatment, and daily limitations.

Rachel explained what the claimant could expect during the hearing and helped her understand the issues involved in her case in clear, easy-to-understand terms.

That preparation helped the claimant approach the hearing with a better understanding of the process and the issues the judge would be considering.

After reviewing the evidence and hearing the case, the Administrative Law Judge agreed with the argument presented and found the claimant disabled going back several years.

$100,036 in Past-Due Social Security Disability Benefits

The favorable decision resulted in $100,036 in past-due Social Security Disability benefits.

The outcome also provided the claimant with ongoing benefits, Medicare coverage, and greater financial stability.

For someone who had been unable to work for years while managing a serious medical condition, the result represented much more than a retroactive payment.

The past-due benefits gave the claimant an opportunity for a fresh start, while ongoing benefits could help support her day-to-day needs as she continued focusing on her health.

After years of working and paying into Social Security, she was finally able to receive the disability benefits supported by her case.

Why This Case Was Meaningful

Rachel has represented Social Security Disability claimants for more than 18 years, including many people living with severe digestive conditions.

For her, these cases are especially meaningful because of the impact those symptoms can have on a person’s everyday life.

“I have represented many claimants over the last 18 years with severe digestive impairments. After getting to know these people and hearing about their debilitating symptoms, it is especially rewarding when they are approved.”

This case also showed why a distant Date Last Insured does not necessarily mean a claim should be abandoned without carefully reviewing the available evidence.

The timing created an additional challenge, but Rachel continued developing the case and building an argument around the claimant’s medical history.

Persistence Was Key

The claimant’s case had been pending since 2022.

Rachel continued reviewing the evidence, developing the legal argument, and helping the claimant understand what to expect at her hearing.

Her takeaway from the case was simple:

“Don’t give up. Persistence is key.”

Every Social Security Disability case is different, and the evidence needed depends on the individual circumstances.

For this claimant, a careful review of years of medical evidence and a focused legal strategy ultimately led to an approval that provided financial stability, Medicare coverage, and greater peace of mind.

When the Timing of a Disability Claim Matters

Social Security Disability cases can become more complicated when a claimant’s Date Last Insured has already passed or when the evidence must establish disability during an earlier period.

In cases like this, the medical record can become especially important in showing what a claimant’s condition and limitations looked like during the relevant timeframe. An experienced lawyer can also help prepare a claimant for a disability hearing and present the relevant evidence.

If you have questions about a Social Security Disability claim, an upcoming hearing, or how your Date Last Insured may affect your case, Disability Law Group can review your situation and help you better understand your options.

Call (888) 575-3010 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.

At Disability Law Group, every client matters.

VA Case Spotlight featuring $1,088,154 in retroactive benefits secured through Special Monthly Compensation

Over $1 Million in Retroactive VA Benefits After Years of Continued Advocacy

For one veteran, securing a 100% Permanent and Total disability rating was not the end of the fight.

After years of navigating the VA disability system, Disability Law Group Partner & Attorney Mandy L. Kelly successfully obtained a 100% Permanent and Total rating in October 2022, including a 100% evaluation for service-connected mental health conditions.

She also established entitlement to Special Monthly Compensation dating back to 2011.

But Mandy recognized that the level of Special Monthly Compensation awarded still did not fully reflect the severity of the veteran’s disabilities or the extent of the assistance the veteran required.

So she kept fighting.

Continuing the Case After a 100% Rating

A 100% Permanent and Total rating was a major victory, but Mandy continued reviewing the case to determine whether additional benefits were still available.

The veteran’s disabilities required a significant level of assistance, and Mandy believed the existing level of Special Monthly Compensation did not fully account for those needs.

Rather than treating the 100% rating as the final outcome, she continued pursuing the case and examining whether the veteran qualified for a higher level of compensation.

Pursuing a Higher Level of Special Monthly Compensation

Special Monthly Compensation, or SMC, may be available to veterans whose service-connected disabilities involve particularly serious limitations or require significant assistance from others.

In this case, Mandy continued developing the claim around the veteran’s need for aid and attendance due to the residuals of a service-connected traumatic brain injury.

She ultimately took the matter before the Board of Veterans’ Appeals and successfully obtained entitlement to SMC-T, a high level of Special Monthly Compensation available to qualifying veterans who require regular aid and attendance and, without that care, would require institutional treatment.

That decision recognized that the veteran’s circumstances warranted a higher level of support than had previously been awarded.

A $1,088,154 Retroactive Benefits Award

The result was extraordinary.

The veteran received $1,088,154 in retroactive VA disability benefits.

The award reflected benefits dating back through years of litigation and advocacy, including entitlement to Special Monthly Compensation reaching back to 2011.

But the significance of the result went beyond the dollar amount.

The veteran had trusted Mandy through a lengthy and complicated VA process, and that trust allowed her to continue pursuing every benefit supported by the case even after an important victory had already been secured.

Why Persistence Mattered

What stands out most about this case is the persistence required to reach the final result.

Mandy could have stopped after obtaining the 100% Permanent and Total rating. Instead, she continued reviewing the veteran’s circumstances and pursuing additional benefits because she believed the level of compensation still did not accurately reflect the veteran’s needs.

That continued advocacy ultimately led to one of the highest levels of Special Monthly Compensation available and a life-changing retroactive award.

More Than a Rating

For veterans living with severe service-connected disabilities, the right level of compensation can affect much more than a monthly benefit.

It can provide greater financial stability, recognize the extent of the assistance a veteran requires, and help support the care needed in daily life.

This case is a reminder that even after a favorable VA decision, there may still be additional benefits or levels of compensation worth reviewing depending on the veteran’s circumstances.

When the Full Picture Matters

VA disability cases can become especially complex when multiple ratings, Special Monthly Compensation, aid and attendance, and appeals are involved.

In this case, careful review and continued advocacy helped ensure that the veteran’s level of compensation more accurately reflected the severity of the disabilities and the assistance required.

If you are a veteran who believes your VA disability rating or level of compensation does not fully reflect your condition or care needs, Disability Law Group can review your case and help you understand your options. Call (888) 575-3010 or contact us online at https://disabilitylawgroup.com/contact/ to schedule a free consultation.

At Disability Law Group, every client matters.

Livonia man approved for Social Security Disability benefits in less than one year

More Than $20,000 in Back Pay: Livonia Man Approved for SSD Benefits in Under a Year

When a 52-year-old man from Livonia, Michigan, came to Disability Law Group, he needed help navigating his Social Security Disability claim while managing several serious physical and mental health conditions.

Less than one year later, his claim was approved. He did not have to face another year or longer waiting for a disability hearing.

The approval awarded him just over $20,000 in past-due benefits and nearly $3,400 per month in ongoing Social Security Disability benefits. For our client and his family, this result provides meaningful financial relief, greater stability, and more freedom to focus on his health.

Serious Medical Conditions Affected His Ability to Work

Our client experiences chronic back pain following a prior surgery, pain radiating into his right arm, numbness and tingling, nerve damage, and radiculopathy affecting his legs.

He also lives with irritable bowel syndrome, depression, and anxiety. He takes several medications to help manage his daily pain, nerve symptoms, muscle spasms, and mental health conditions.

Together, these symptoms affected his daily life and his ability to work full-time, consistently, and reliably.

Medical records can document diagnoses, treatments, medications, and test results. However, they do not always fully explain how a person’s symptoms interfere with daily functioning and the ability to maintain a regular work schedule.

Helping Social Security understand those limitations was an important part of building his claim.

How Disability Law Group Helped Build the Claim

When someone is already managing serious health problems, the last thing they need is to feel buried under confusing Social Security paperwork.

Our team handled the functional reports, work history questions, EVL packet, third-party forms, application verification, and ongoing communication with the Disability Determination Services examiner.

We also obtained three medical source statements that were specially prepared for our client’s doctors to complete.

These statements allowed his providers to explain his conditions, symptoms, and work-related limitations in a way that helped Social Security understand the full impact of his health problems.

Why the Medical Source Statements Were Critical

Medical records tell an important story, but they do not always clearly show how pain, nerve damage, medication side effects, IBS, depression, anxiety, and other daily symptoms affect someone’s ability to work.

The medical source statements helped connect those dots.

They supported the information in our client’s treatment records by giving his doctors an opportunity to explain how his conditions limited his ability to function consistently in a work setting.

Instead of seeing only a list of diagnoses and medications, Social Security received a clearer picture of what our client was living with each day.

By developing this evidence early and maintaining communication with the examiner, our team helped present a complete and well-supported claim.

Approved in Less Than One Year

Social Security found our client disabled as of May 2025.

Receiving an approval in less than one year meant that he did not have to face the additional uncertainty and delay of waiting another year or longer for a hearing.

Most importantly, the approval validated what our client had been experiencing. His conditions were not simply uncomfortable or inconvenient. They affected his ability to maintain full-time work and support himself consistently.

The award of more than $20,000 in back pay and nearly $3,400 in monthly benefits will help provide financial stability for him and his family as he continues managing his health.

Future Medicare Eligibility

Our client will also become eligible for Medicare after the applicable waiting period.

People entitled to SSDI generally qualify for Medicare after a 24-month qualifying period based on disability benefit entitlement. Social Security counts one month for each month of disability benefit entitlement when determining when coverage begins.

The standard Medicare Part B premium is $202.90 per month in 2026, although some beneficiaries may pay a different amount based on income or qualify for assistance with Medicare-related expenses.

Our team made sure our client understood his rights, available resources, and options for reviewing Medicare coverage and possible help paying the premium.

More Than a Disability Benefits Approval

This result is about more than a back-pay award or a monthly benefit.

It is about taking part of the burden off someone who was already managing chronic pain, nerve symptoms, digestive issues, depression, and anxiety.

It is about building the evidence early, helping Social Security understand the complete impact of a person’s conditions, and avoiding unnecessary delays whenever possible.

Most importantly, it is about helping a client feel heard, protected, and validated.

We are grateful that this client trusted Disability Law Group with his claim. We are thrilled that he can now move forward with greater financial security, future access to Medicare, and the peace of mind he deserves.

If you need help applying for Social Security Disability benefits or your claim has been denied, Disability Law Group can help you understand your options. Call (888) 575-3010 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.

At Disability Law Group, every client matters.

Without a Hearing, SSA Awards Texas Man More Than $111,000 in Past-Due Benefits

Without a Hearing, SSA Awards Texas Man More Than $111,000 in Past-Due Benefits

For many people applying for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), the process can feel long, uncertain, and exhausting. Even when a person has serious medical conditions that prevent full-time work, benefits are not always approved right away.

At Disability Law Group, we understand how important it is to keep building the strongest possible case, even after an initial denial.

Recently, attorney Jordan Leff successfully represented a 64-year-old Texas man whose disability claim was approved without a hearing, resulting in more than $111,000 in past-due benefits.

The Challenge: A Long Career Interrupted by Serious Health Conditions

Our client had spent years working as a procurement specialist. He loved his work and had built a long career, but the symptoms of his physical and mental health conditions made it impossible for him to continue performing his job on a full-time basis.

His impairments included Parkinson’s disease and major depressive disorder, both of which affected his ability to work consistently and reliably.

Although the claim was denied at the initial application stage, Disability Law Group continued to advocate for the client and prepare the case for the next step.

The Strategy: Building the Case Before the Hearing

Attorney Jordan Leff and the Disability Law Group team focused on showing why the client’s medical records, age, and skilled work history supported a finding of disability under Social Security rules.

The team worked with the client to obtain medical source statements from his care providers. These statements outlined detailed limitations that helped show why the client would not be able to perform full-time work or adjust to other jobs in the national economy.

Even while the case was moving toward a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge, Disability Law Group continued submitting supportive documentation and legal arguments. The goal was to make sure the Social Security Administration had a clear and complete picture of the client’s limitations before the hearing was even scheduled.

A Favorable Outcome Without a Hearing

On May 7, 2026, an attorney advisor with the Social Security Administration reviewed the evidence and issued a fully favorable decision without requiring the client to attend a hearing.

The decision found that there was enough evidence to support disability going back to the client’s alleged onset date in March 2023.

As a result, the client was awarded $111,446.90 in past-due benefits.

The Impact: Relief After a Long and Uncertain Process

For the client, this decision meant more than a financial award. It meant relief after months of uncertainty and the reassurance that his conditions and limitations had finally been recognized.

He was thrilled to learn that his claim had been approved before a hearing was even scheduled.

After attorney fees, the client’s anticipated past-due benefits would still be more than $100,000, helping provide meaningful financial stability moving forward.

Why This Case Matters

This case is a powerful reminder that an initial denial is not always the end of the road.

It also shows the importance of:

  • Continuing to submit strong medical evidence
  • Obtaining detailed medical source statements
  • Explaining how symptoms affect full-time work
  • Considering age, work history, and vocational factors
  • Building the case while waiting for a hearing

In some cases, strong evidence and continued advocacy can help move a claim forward before a hearing takes place.

Disability Law Group Is Here to Help

The path to a favorable disability decision can be long, frustrating, and uncertain. But you do not have to go through it alone.

At Disability Law Group, disability is all we do. Our team works to gather evidence, develop legal arguments, and help Social Security understand the full impact of your conditions.

If you or a loved one has been denied disability benefits or is waiting for a hearing, Disability Law Group can help you understand your options and move forward with support.

Call Disability Law Group at (888) 461-2838 or contact us online through our contact page at https://disabilitylawgroup.com/contact/ for a free consultation.

When the System Gets It Wrong: Securing 100% Disability Through Strategy and Persistence

When the System Gets It Wrong: Securing 100% Disability Through Strategy and Persistence

For many veterans, the path to receiving disability benefits is not straightforward. Even when conditions are severe and life-altering, claims can be denied due to technicalities, incomplete evaluations, or the wrong legal theory being applied.

At Disability Law Group, we understand that success often requires more than evidence. It requires strategy, adaptability, and persistence.

Recently, attorney Jason successfully represented a 30-year-old veteran in a case that highlights the importance of reevaluating a claim and building the right legal foundation.

The Challenge: A Denied Claim Based on the Wrong Theory

Our client initially sought service connection for a psychological condition based on stressful incidents during military service. However, the Department of Veterans Affairs denied the claim, stating that the incidents occurred during a period that did not qualify for service connection.

Despite ongoing symptoms and clear impact on daily life, the claim was repeatedly denied. The core issue was not the lack of a condition, but the way the case had been presented.

The Strategy: Adapting the Approach

Attorney Jason took a different approach. Instead of continuing under the original theory, the case was reframed based on the client’s already service-connected musculoskeletal conditions.

Through a detailed review of the file, the legal team identified that the client’s chronic pain had led to the development of a psychological condition. A strong medical nexus opinion was obtained to establish this connection.

Even then, the process was not simple. The VA repeatedly failed to properly consider the evidence, requiring multiple appeals and continued advocacy over several years.

A Favorable Outcome: 100% Permanent and Total

In March 2026, the VA issued a fully favorable decision.

The client was granted 100% Permanent and Total disability, with benefits backdated to January 2023, resulting in a total award of approximately $58,000, along with ongoing lifetime benefits.

The Impact: More Than Financial Support

For the client, this outcome meant more than financial relief.

It meant stability.
It meant access to care.
And most importantly, it meant peace of mind.

As the client shared, this was the first time he felt able to truly breathe since leaving the military.

Attorney Perspective: Adapt and Overcome

Reflecting on the case, Jason emphasized the importance of flexibility in legal strategy.

“Sometimes the theory of entitlement or the direction of a case can change. Being able to adapt and overcome makes all the difference.”

Why This Case Matters

This case highlights several important truths:
• The initial approach is not always the right one
• Strong legal strategy can change the outcome of a case
• Denials are not the end of the road

We Are Here to Help

At Disability Law Group, we are committed to helping veterans navigate complex claims with compassion and expertise. If you or a loved one has been denied benefits, do not give up.

📞 800-838-1100
🌐 https://disabilitylawgroup.com/contact/

Michigan Social Security Disability federal court appeal case spotlight for Disability Law Group

From Social Security Denial to Federal Court Victory: A Second Chance That Changed Everything

When our client first came to Disability Law Group, she had already been told “no” more than once.

She was a 42-year-old mother from Cheboygan, Michigan, who had been fighting for Social Security Disability Insurance benefits since 2020. She had attended her hearing and trusted the process, but the judge denied her claim. When the Appeals Council declined to review her case, she felt like she had reached the end of the road.

Fortunately, a denial is not always the end. Sometimes, it means the case needs a different strategy, a deeper review, and a team willing to look closely at what may have been missed.

Can I Appeal a Social Security Disability Denial in Federal Court?

Yes. If your claim is denied by an Administrative Law Judge and the Appeals Council refuses to review it, you may have the right to file a lawsuit in United States District Court.

This is a highly specialized step in the Social Security Disability appeal process. It is not a new application, and it is not another standard hearing. Instead, the court reviews whether legal errors may have affected the outcome of the case.

At Disability Law Group, we understand how discouraging it can feel to receive multiple denials. But in some cases, Federal Court can open the door to a second chance.

Seeing What Others Missed

Our client was referred to us because her prior attorney did not handle federal appeals.

When we reviewed her file, we did not just see a denial. We saw a case where the evidence had not been fully connected to the severity of her limitations.

After carefully reviewing her medical records and hearing transcripts, it became clear that her impairments, including those connected to a 2015 motor vehicle accident, had not been meaningfully evaluated. Her symptoms were serious, ongoing, and life-changing, but the full picture had not been presented in a way that reflected how much her conditions affected her ability to work.

Disability Law Group filed a lawsuit in United States District Court. The federal judge agreed that the case needed another look and sent it back for a new hearing.

What Medical Conditions Were Involved in This Disability Case?

This case involved a complex medical history that included chronic migraines, cervical spine damage, and Chiari malformation.

With the opportunity for a new hearing, our team rebuilt the case from the ground up. We focused on telling the full story of how her conditions developed, worsened, and affected her ability to function day after day.

Chronic, Debilitating Migraines

Our client’s migraines were not simply occasional headaches. They were severe episodes that caused extreme sensitivity to light and sound, forcing her to lie down in a dark room for hours at a time.

For someone trying to maintain consistent work, symptoms like these can make it extremely difficult to stay focused, reliable, and present throughout a normal workday.

Cervical Spine Damage

Medical imaging confirmed disc bulging at C5-6 and C6-7. These issues contributed to pain, reduced mobility, and muscle weakness.

Even when a job is considered sedentary or office-based, a person may still need to sit for long periods, hold their head and neck in certain positions, focus on tasks, and maintain consistent attendance. Her physical limitations made those expectations increasingly difficult.

Chiari Malformation and Surgical Complications

Our client also underwent Chiari decompression surgery. Unfortunately, instead of providing the relief she had hoped for, she continued to experience serious symptoms, including increased vertigo and voice-related issues.

This part of her medical history helped show that her condition was not temporary or easily resolved. It was part of a larger, ongoing pattern of limitations that affected her daily life and ability to work.

Why Was the Date Last Insured Important?

One of the biggest challenges in this case was our client’s Date Last Insured, which was December 31, 2019.

For Social Security Disability Insurance, the Date Last Insured is an important deadline. Because Social Security Disability Insurance is based on work history and payroll taxes, a person generally must show that their disability began before their insured status expired.

In this case, that meant we needed to connect the medical evidence to the period before December 31, 2019.

Our team carefully built a timeline from the 2015 accident through the years that followed. We showed how her symptoms progressed and how her limitations became severe enough to prevent full-time work before her insured status ended.

How Did Federal Court Help This Client Get Another Hearing?

Federal Court gave this client another opportunity to have her case properly reviewed.

The court did not simply approve benefits on the spot. Instead, it recognized that there were issues in how the case had been evaluated and sent it back for a new hearing.

That second chance mattered.

At the new hearing, Disability Law Group was able to present the evidence more clearly, explain the medical timeline, and show how her conditions prevented her from sustaining the type of work she had done in the past.

The Result: $150,945 in Past-Due Benefits

After years of uncertainty, the judge agreed that our client was disabled.

She was awarded $150,945 in past-due benefits, along with ongoing monthly support for herself and her minor child.

For this Michigan mother, the outcome meant more than a financial award. It meant stability, relief, and the chance to move forward after years of fighting to be heard.

Every case is different, and past results do not guarantee future outcomes. But this case is an important reminder that a denial does not always mean the end of the road.

Why Strategy Matters in Social Security Disability Appeals

A strong disability appeal requires more than submitting records. It requires understanding the medical evidence, the legal standards, the work history, and the specific reasons a claim was denied.

In this case, strategy mattered because the original denial did not fully reflect the impact of our client’s conditions. By identifying what had been missed and taking the case to Federal Court, Disability Law Group helped create the opportunity for a new hearing and a fairer review.

For people who feel discouraged after a denial, this case shows why it can be important to have an experienced disability team review the file before giving up.

What Should You Do If Your Social Security Disability Claim Was Denied?

If your Social Security Disability claim was denied, do not assume that you are out of options.

Depending on where you are in the process, you may be able to request reconsideration, attend a hearing, ask for Appeals Council review, or pursue a Federal Court appeal. The right next step depends on your case history, your deadlines, and the reason for the denial.

Because deadlines can be strict, it is important to ask for help as soon as possible.

Disability Law Group Is Here to Help You Understand Your Options

Being denied benefits can feel overwhelming, especially when you are already dealing with pain, illness, financial stress, or uncertainty about the future. You deserve to have your case reviewed with care, attention, and respect.

At Disability Law Group, we help people with Social Security Disability claims at many stages of the process, including appeals and Federal Court cases. We take the time to understand the person behind the claim and the full story behind the medical records.

If you have been denied Social Security Disability benefits, contact Disability Law Group today for a free consultation. We can help you understand your options and decide what steps may be available in your case.

📞 (800) 838-1100
🌐 https://disabilitylawgroup.com/contact/

At Disability Law Group, every client matters.

MST VA disability claim victory with 100% permanent and total rating

Invisible Wounds. Undeniable Truth. 100% Justice: A VA Disability Victory for a Military Sexual Trauma Survivor

When veterans think about VA disability claims, a common misconception is that a lack of reporting at the time of an incident guarantees denial. This concern is especially common for survivors of Military Sexual Trauma (MST), who may carry the impact in silence for years, sometimes decades.

This case spotlight shows how strategic advocacy, a deep review of MST behavioral markers, and persistence through the appeals process helped a Navy veteran increase her VA disability rating from 10% to 100% Permanent and Total (P&T). If you are pursuing an MST VA disability claim, this case shows what can make the difference.

A decades-long fight for recognition and benefits

A 58-year-old Navy veteran from Michigan came to Disability Law Group after being repeatedly let down by the VA disability process. Despite severe PTSD related to MST, along with sleep apnea, migraines, and fibromyalgia, the VA rated her at only 10%.

The VA’s position was blunt: they claimed there was no evidence of an in-service stressor and no medical link, often called a nexus, between her current conditions and her military service. Because her formal treatment began years after discharge, the VA argued her claim lacked proof.

The strategy for an MST VA disability claim without a formal report

Disability Law Group Attorney Taylor Fenner approached the case with a clear understanding of why MST is frequently underreported. As Fenner explained, “Too many survivors suffer quietly for decades. When they are finally ready to share their story, they deserve to be believed and fiercely represented.”

DLG built a multi-layered legal strategy to overcome the VA’s “lack of evidence” argument:

  • Identifying MST behavioral markers: The team reviewed service treatment and personnel records for markers such as unexplained injuries, sudden medical visits, behavior changes, or shifts in duty performance. These markers can help support MST-related PTSD claims even when a formal report was never filed.
  • Strengthening the record with lay evidence: The claim was supported with detailed lay statements and medical context explaining delayed reporting. This helped demonstrate that silence is often a symptom of trauma, not an absence of it.
  • Establishing the nexus and secondary service connection: After securing service connection for PTSD, the team used that foundation to argue that other conditions, including obstructive sleep apnea, were secondary to PTSD and warranted VA disability compensation.

Escalating the appeal to a Higher-Level Review (HLR)

After a partial grant through a supplemental appeal, the fight was not over. The case was escalated to a Higher-Level Review (HLR). This step allowed the team to present focused legal and medical arguments to a senior VA reviewer, highlight errors in the prior decision, and demand a complete review of the marker evidence.

For many veterans, an MST VA disability claim is won at the appeal stage when the evidence is presented clearly.

Result: 100% P&T, Special Monthly Compensation, and $145,000 in back pay

The outcome was fully favorable. The VA acknowledged the veteran’s trauma and the severity of her conditions. The decision included:

  • 100% Permanent and Total (P&T) disability rating
  • Special Monthly Compensation (SMC-S) due to the combined impact of multiple service-connected disabilities
  • Over $145,000 in retroactive VA disability back pay, effective to the original claim date
  • Long-term security, including ongoing healthcare access and benefits that may extend to eligible dependents

For this veteran, the financial relief was life-changing. But the recognition mattered just as much: the VA finally acknowledged that what happened to her mattered.

Key takeaway: lack of reporting does not mean you cannot win

This case highlights important truths for veterans pursuing MST-related VA disability benefits:

  • A denial is not the end: Many strong cases are won through appeals, supplemental claims, or Higher-Level Reviews.
  • MST claims can be proven with markers: When a formal report is not available, the VA can consider behavioral changes and other indirect evidence.
  • Your story has weight: With the right legal strategy and evidence, “unprovable” claims can become successful claims.

We’re here to stand with you

MST and PTSD claims are deeply personal and deserve compassion, care, and experienced advocacy. If you or a loved one has been denied benefits, underrated by the VA, or needs help building an MST claim, Disability Law Group is here to help. An attorney can help strengthen an MST VA disability claim by gathering records, identifying markers, and building the nexus.

Contact us today to schedule a free consultation. We are proud to fight for those who have fought for us.

Case spotlight graphic featuring Jordan Leff and highlighting a veteran with severe PTSD who secured disability benefits despite limited medical records.

When Disability Is the Obstacle: Overcoming Sparse Medical Records to Win Social Security Disability Benefits

For many individuals living with severe Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), the very symptoms that make them disabled, such as anxiety, avoidance, and fear of revisiting trauma, are the same factors that prevent them from seeking regular medical treatment. Unfortunately, to the Social Security Administration (SSA), a lack of recent medical records can sometimes appear to be a lack of impairment.

At Disability Law Group, we understand that silence in a medical file does not mean someone is cured. In many cases, it means the individual is struggling more than ever.

Recently, Disability Law Group attorney Jordan Leff successfully represented a 35-year-old military veteran in a Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) case that demonstrates how powerful personal testimony and strategic advocacy can be when medical records are limited.

The Challenge: Limited Medical Records in a PTSD Disability Claim

Our client, a veteran who previously worked as a retail stocker, had already been found disabled by the Department of Veterans Affairs due to severe PTSD. However, when he applied for Social Security Disability benefits, his case faced a significant challenge: extremely limited medical records during the relevant time period.

Because of the severity of his PTSD symptoms, the claimant experienced intense avoidance. He struggled to leave his home, avoided interacting with others, and often resisted seeking treatment because doing so required revisiting traumatic experiences.

In many disability cases, sparse medical documentation can lead to a denial. Our task was to demonstrate that his lack of treatment was not evidence of improvement. Instead, it was a direct symptom of his disabling mental health condition.

The Strategy: Letting the Client’s Story Be Heard

Knowing the medical file alone would not fully capture the severity of his condition, Jordan Leff focused on the most powerful evidence available: the claimant’s personal testimony.

The first step was building trust. Initially, the client was extremely nervous and hesitant to share details about his daily life and trauma. Through patient preparation and collaboration with both the claimant and his wife, Jordan developed a strategic approach to highlight the reality of his limitations.

The testimony focused on several critical areas:

  • Identifying triggers: Clearly explaining the mental health triggers that made sustained employment impossible.
  • Explaining treatment avoidance: Demonstrating how leaving the home or discussing traumatic experiences triggered severe anxiety and distress.
  • Illustrating daily limitations: Painting a clear picture of how PTSD restricted the client’s ability to function socially, emotionally, and professionally.

A Favorable Decision at the Hearing

During the disability hearing, the claimant shared his story with honesty and courage. The preparation paid off. His testimony clearly demonstrated the severity of his condition and how PTSD prevented him from maintaining full-time employment.

The Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) was so persuaded by the testimony and evidence that he took the unusual step of informing Jordan Leff and the client during the hearing that he would be granting the claim.

Life-Changing Results for the Veteran and His Family

The favorable decision immediately changed the lives of the veteran and his family. The approval provided:

  • Financial stability: Monthly disability benefits to help support daily living expenses.
  • Access to Medicare: Ensuring healthcare coverage when the veteran is ready to pursue treatment.
  • Peace of mind: Recognition that his service-connected mental health condition is real, serious, and deserving of support.

Attorney Insight: No Disability Case Is Hopeless

Attorney Jordan Leff reflected that while the client was initially reluctant to discuss the details of his condition, the support of his wife and careful preparation helped him share his story.

This case shows that many judges understand that the absence of treatment records can actually reflect the severity of a mental health condition. When the right evidence and testimony are presented, the truth can still be heard.

Why This Case Matters

If you or someone you love is struggling with PTSD or another invisible disability, it is important to know that limited medical records do not automatically mean you cannot qualify for Social Security Disability benefits.

This case highlights several important realities:

  • Avoidance can be a symptom: Not seeking treatment may reflect the severity of a mental health condition.
  • Personal testimony matters: Your story and the experiences of those who support you are powerful evidence.
  • Experienced advocacy makes a difference: Strategic legal representation can help ensure your reality is understood.

We Are Here to Help

At Disability Law Group, we help veterans and individuals with mental health disabilities navigate the Social Security Disability process with compassion and experience. We understand the fear, anxiety, and uncertainty that often accompany these claims.

If you or someone you love is struggling to obtain Social Security Disability benefits, our team is here to help.

Contact Disability Law Group today to schedule a free consultation and learn how we can help you move forward.

 

Case spotlight graphic showing Disability Law Group securing over $100,000 in past-due Social Security Disability benefits after a federal court remand.

Over $100,000 in Past-Due Social Security Disability Benefits After Federal Court Remand

When people think about Social Security Disability cases, they often assume approvals happen quickly or that a denial means the end of the road. This case shows just how inaccurate that assumption can be.

After years of denials, multiple appeals, and a federal court lawsuit, Disability Law Group helped a client from Warren, Michigan secure Social Security Disability benefits, immediate Medicare eligibility, and more than $100,000 in past-due benefits. Most importantly, the judge agreed that he had been disabled since June 2019, several years earlier than Social Security initially acknowledged.

A Long Road to the Right Outcome

Our client first applied for disability benefits in his mid-40s after years of worsening orthopedic and musculoskeletal conditions. Despite extensive treatment and clear functional limitations, his claim was denied at every level, including after his initial hearing.

By the time he contacted Disability Law Group, he was physically, emotionally, and financially exhausted. Even so, he remained determined to pursue the benefits he knew he deserved.

We took over the case and pursued every available appeal, first to the Appeals Council and then to the United States District Court. That decision ultimately changed the course of the case.

Federal Court: Where the Case Turned

The federal court judge agreed with our arguments and found that the prior Administrative Law Judge committed significant legal errors and failed to properly evaluate key medical evidence. The court ordered the case remanded for a new hearing, clearly stating that the prior analysis was flawed.

That remand allowed for a full and fair evaluation of the evidence, which ultimately resulted in a fully favorable decision.

Severe Orthopedic Conditions and Surgeries That Increased Limitations

This case involved severe bilateral knee pathology, combined with ankle, foot, and back impairments. The medical record showed extensive and ongoing limitations, including:

  • A scope procedure that worsened pain
  • A total knee arthroplasty
  • A subsequent right knee replacement scheduled for early 2024
  • Chronic instability and significant functional loss
  • Radiating symptoms into the left leg
  • Reliance on assistive devices
  • Difficulty remaining upright or stable

Despite this evidence, Social Security initially claimed he could still perform work, including sedentary work. We strongly disagreed and continued to fight for a decision that reflected the reality of his functional limitations.

Meeting and Medically Equaling Listing 1.18

One of the most critical arguments in this case involved Listing 1.18, which addresses major joint dysfunction. This listing requires evidence such as:

  • Chronic joint pain and stiffness
  • Abnormal motion or instability
  • Imaging confirming joint damage
  • A medically required two-handed, weight-bearing assistive device

We demonstrated that the combined impact of his knee, ankle, foot, and back impairments caused him to meet or medically equal Listing 1.18 well before his surgery date. We also established that his disability began in June 2019, not only after surgical intervention. The judge agreed with this analysis.

Why the Case Was Strong Even Without the Listings

Even beyond Listings 1.18, 1.15, and 1.16, this case clearly warranted approval at step five of the disability process, which evaluates whether a claimant can perform any work.

The evidence showed that:

  • He could not sit, stand, or walk for a full workday
  • He required frequent position changes
  • Pain significantly interfered with concentration and focus
  • He needed excessive breaks
  • Instability made sustained work unsafe

Based on these limitations, he could not perform any full-time work, including sedentary employment. The judge agreed so strongly that she did not call a vocational expert to testify, an uncommon and powerful outcome.

Fully Favorable Decision and Life-Changing Results

After reviewing the record and hearing testimony, the judge issued a fully favorable decision, finding the client disabled as of June 2019. As a result, he received:

  • More than $100,000 in past-due Social Security Disability benefits
  • Immediate eligibility for Medicare
  • Ongoing monthly disability benefits
  • Long-overdue financial stability

At the time of the final decision, the client was 50 years old, a factor that strengthened the case under Social Security’s vocational rules. However, the success of this case depended on proving disability well before he reached age 50, which allowed for a significantly larger award of retroactive benefits.

Why This Case Matters

This case highlights several critical truths:

  • A denial is not the end of the process
  • Federal court appeals can be successful
  • Judges must follow the law, and courts will enforce accountability
  • Severe orthopedic conditions often involve multiple joints and combined limitations
  • Disability determinations are based on functional ability, not just diagnoses

Most importantly, it demonstrates the value of working with an experienced disability law firm that understands medical listings, vocational rules, and federal court litigation.

We’re Here to Help

If you or someone you love has been denied Social Security Disability benefits, even after a hearing, do not give up. Many of our strongest cases are won on appeal, including at the federal court level.

At Disability Law Group, we handle disability claims nationwide and know how to build cases that withstand scrutiny from the initial application through federal court review. We are here to stand by your side and fight for the benefits you deserve. Book a free consultation here.

September Case Spotlight

Veteran Wins $550,000 in Retroactive Benefits After Decades-Long Fight

We are honored to share a recent victory that reflects exactly why we do this work. Disability Law Group Partner Mandy Kelly secured $550,000 in retroactive benefits for a Michigan veteran after taking his case to the Board of Veterans’ Appeals (BVA). After decades of delay and frustration, this veteran finally received the justice he deserved.

The Veteran’s Story

This veteran served from 1985 to 1986, during which time he survived a traumatic personal assault during training. The attack left him with both physical injuries and lasting psychological trauma.

In 1993 — nearly 30 years ago — he filed his first claim with the VA for “pain and stress” related to his service injury. At the time, he was already struggling with depression and taking antidepressants. Instead of fully developing the claim, the VA overlooked that he was clearly describing symptoms of PTSD and left his case unresolved.

Years passed. The veteran kept fighting, filing additional claims. Eventually, the VA granted service connection for PTSD, but they assigned the wrong effective date. This mistake cost him hundreds of thousands of dollars in benefits he had rightfully earned.

The Fight for Justice

The central issue came down to one question: when should his PTSD benefits have started? The VA argued for a much later date. Mandy Kelly argued that his original 1993 claim for “stress” was, in fact, a claim for PTSD.

Building the Case

Through tireless advocacy, Mandy Kelly built a compelling case by:

  • Presenting the veteran’s separation exam, which documented stress and nervousness as early as 1986.
  • Highlighting medical evidence from the early 1990s showing treatment for depression with antidepressants.
  • Arguing that the VA had a legal duty to sympathetically read the veteran’s claim under precedential case law, recognizing “stress” as a claim for psychiatric disability, even if not explicitly labeled as PTSD.

Her point was simple but powerful: when a veteran reports “stress” after a traumatic service experience, supported by medical evidence, the VA must recognize it as a psychiatric claim.

The Victory

The BVA agreed. They moved the effective date back to April 5, 1993 — exactly what had been sought. The outcome: $550,000 in retroactive benefits that this veteran should have received years ago.

This decision is not just about the financial relief, though that is life-changing. It is also about the VA finally acknowledging this veteran’s trauma and taking responsibility for their past mistakes.

Why This Matters

Every case we take on is personal. We are not just handling claims — we are standing beside people who served our country and were shortchanged by the system meant to protect them. This veteran waited 30 years for justice, but he never gave up. Neither did we.

Need Help with Your Case?

If the VA has denied your claim or assigned the wrong effective date, you do not have to face this alone. The attorneys at Disability Law Group know how to hold the VA accountable, and we are not afraid to take cases all the way to the BVA when necessary.

Contact Disability Law Group today at 1.800.838.1100 or click here to schedule your free consultation. Let our experienced attorneys be your voice and fight for the justice you deserve.